Wednesday, May 1, 2013

What Counties Make Up the State of Jefferson?

Free State of Jefferson, State of jefferson, county map, california county map, oregon county map

The State of Jefferson movement started in 1941 with a suggestion by Port Orford, Oregon mayor Gilbert Gable that seven counties join together to create a new state.

He included four Oregon counties:

Curry County
Jackson County
Josephine County
Klamath County

…and three California counties:

Del Norte County
Modoc County
Siskiyou County

These counties were the original seven, but since that time there have been other proposals for a State of Jefferson, including many other counties.

In Oregon the expanded list of counties includes:

Coos County
Douglas County
Lake County

…and in California, the additional counties involved are:

Butte County
Glenn County
Humboldt County
Lassen County
Mendocino County
Plumas County
Shasta County
Tehema County
Trinity County

Info stolen from State of Jefferson Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment